$12/hr hourly rate $0/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I have lost both of my parents to cancer. I had a smaller role in caring for my mother during her illness than I did with my father. As it happened, my father was in a motorcycle accident 6 months after his diagnosis of pancreatic cancer and suffered a traumatic brain injury, from which he never recovered his full mobility or memory. I took on his primary care during the last three months of his life. I checked his blood sugar and administered his insulin and other medication as needed. I assisted him as he moved from the bed to his walker and made sure he moved safely around the house, as his balance was off from the accident. When he became incontinent, I took care of his bathroom needs, including changing the sheets while he was still in bed, keeping his comfort forefront in my mind. And as he came to the end of his life, I saw it as the greatest gift to be there with him, keeping things peaceful, letting him know he was not alone. It has been my wish to be able to offer the same for others. To care for them in a peaceful, cheerful, way.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Comunity First Bank & Trust Loan Officer Fort Wayne, IN 10/1/03 2/1/05
Tower Bank Loan Operations Fort Wayne, IN 5/1/08 6/1/10
Adventure Sightseeing Tour Guide Charleston, SC 10/1/10 12/1/13
Charms of Charleston Tours Tour Guide Charleston, SC 12/1/13 9/1/16

Education

School Name From To Degree
Ball State University 1988 1994 Bachelor’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I enjoy reading, jigsaw puzzles, playing board games, watching TV and movies.

Languages

English

Experience With

Dementia/Alzheimer's Disease

Cancer Recovery

Diabetes

Hospice Care

Transferring/Balance Support