$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate FULL-time availability

Profile

Hello. My name is Susan H. I’ve been a teacher for over 25 years and, presently I am doing substitute teaching. A number of years ago, I worked for a couple who had various health problems and had trouble getting around. I helped her with the laundry and with shopping and some cleaning. I also helped a friend who had Alzheimer’s and I spent time with her, playing music, singing, and dancing as well as cooking for her and baking cookies with her. Several years ago, I found myself helping my sisters to care for our father. We spent hours working on puzzles, playing cards, baking cookies and zucchini bread, listening to music, and going for short walks amongst his flower beds. I even helped him to paint his one and only water color picture. I enjoy talking to people and helping them to do things. Perhaps, I can help you with your loved one.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
A caregiver organization in Canton, Ohio Caregiver Canton, Ohio 10/7/91 7/1/92
Family Care - my father caregiver North Canton, Ohio 5/30/03 5/11/09

Education

School Name From To Degree
Kent State University 1965 1971 Bachelor’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I have many interests that include traveling, hiking, riding my bike, drawing and painting, sewing, needlework, horseback riding, and scuba diving and swimming. I play the piano and am gradually teaching myself to play the guitar. I am slowly working on writing a parent/teacher handbook for use as a resource, with the focus on reading, but I keep getting side-tracked by a cute little bundle of joy, my grand-daughter.