$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate FULL-time availability

Profile

My name is Orlantha or O, which ever one you are comfortable with. I started caregiving in 2006 with my grandmother. My granny was a fiesty 92 year young woman but very loving. I did her shopping, took her to church, helped her dress and spent a lot of time with her. In 2007 my mom was diagnosed with liver cancer but died 4 days after learning of cancer. I spent 4 wonderful days reading to my mother, combing her hair, and laying with her. In 2009 my dad was diagnosed with dementia and Parkinson was diagnosed in 2005. He was a very stubborn man who never accepted his diseases. My dad was bedridden and was very challenging. I had to dress and wash him and change him while in bed. As time went on and he started to decline. I had to do everything for him. I had the assistance of an electric hoyer and Peace Hospice located on 109th & Western in Chicago, Il. Peace Hospice can verify on the care that I gave my dad. Caring for my elders was a humbling experience and I want to care for others as well.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Lee Healthcare Caregiver/homemaker Chicago/Il 5/1/09 9/12/12

Education

School Name From To Degree
Unity High School 1972 1976 High School

Related Interests & Hobbies

I don't have a lot of hobbies. I love jazz music and read tons of books; my favorite authors are Mary Higgins Clark and Robin Cook. I do attend church and try to spend an hour of my time with the Lord everyday.

Other Information

I stayed home with my dad for 3 years, and it was a trying and challenging experience. I know what it is like and want to help others in that same position.