$13/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I have spent much of my life teaching and caring for the mentally and physically disabled. I am a retired teacher and have taught public and private school for 35 years. I have an elementary and special ed. degree and have had experience providing care for a cousin with Down's Syndrome. She was high level and lived in an apt. attached to our home for 9 years. After 7 years she developed Alzheimer's and I oversaw her care. After retiring 3 years ago, I have done care giving for the elderly. I have taken care of 2 women with Parkinson's, two men with diabetes and memory loss, and have spent the last year overseeing the care of a gentleman with dementia. I am 64 years old but take good care of myself.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Right at Home Caregiver Lockhart, TX 4/28/14 Present
Visiting Angels / Care Family Caregiver / Companion San Antonio / Hondo /Kyle 9/18/12 11/3/14

Education

School Name From To Degree
Texas Tech University 1970 1973 Bachelor’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I love to work with plants and have a nice collection of orchids in my home. I also like working outside in my flowerbed and keeping the yard. I walk 1 - 2 miles a day and do strength and stretching exercises several times a week. My passion is reading, and I like to keep a book with me at all times. I am a Christian and my husband and I are active in our local church. I am pro-life and one afternoon a week I volunteer at a lifecare center for women seeking a pregnancy tests and help with their pregnancies. I have a pet Maltese and I do love walking him and keeping him groomed. I think care giving works for me because it is part time and I like to cook, clean, shop, visit, organize a household, and care for people of all ages.

Languages

English

Experience With

Dementia/Alzheimer's Disease

Diabetes

Parkinson's Disease