$12/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate FULL-time availability

Profile

Hello, my name is Melissa Ellegard. My career as a Certified Nursing Assistant began in 2001. I started at Shadow Mountain, Beverly Healthcare Center. This was a long-term nursing facility in, Scottsdale, AZ. I was then recruited to Pueblo Norte, A Sunrise Senior Living facility, by my Director of Nurses, also in Scottsdale, AZ. I gained a lot of experience working in these facilities, which taught me multiple tasks, such as transfer techniques, bathing, toileting, feeding, positioning patients to avoid pressure ulcers, taking and documenting vital signs, I also encouraged patients to help with their activities of daily living (ADL's) as they were able. After spending 4+ years in the long term setting, I became interested in Hospice care, I worked for Hospice of Arizona for 4 years & returned home to Colorado in 2008 and worked for Evercare hospice for 3 years. I enjoyed Hospice/ Home-Health care as it allowed me to spend more time with patients and their families. In doing all these cares; I maintained a professional, yet friendly approach recognizing each patient as an individual with different needs. I very much enjoy being a caregiver and knowing that I make a difference in my patients lives. I am a compassionate and empathetic person. I pride myself on delivering excellent care with the promise of comfort while maintaining the dignity and trust of those I serve.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Evercare Hospice CNA/HHA Colorado Springs, CO 9/1/08 2/23/13
Interim Hospice/Healthcare Prn- CNA Colorado Springs,CO 5/1/12 2/23/13
Centura Health CNA Medalion Healthcare 10/1/12 2/23/13

Education

School Name From To Degree
Pikes Peak Community College 1991 1991 Attended College
Mitchell High School 1989 1991 High School
Nursing Assistant Training (RSAA) 2001 2001 Attended College
Scottsdale Community College 2003 2003 Attended College

Related Interests & Hobbies

I have a great interest in art, I love photography and rarely go anywhere without my camera, because the beauty in life is all around us and there is always something which captures your eye if your looking. I have two adult children who I enjoy spending time with watching movies, having a nice dinner and visiting my parents. I enjoy animals a great deal. I have a companion named Sasha. She's a beautiful boxer/queensland heeler mix, who has been trained to be a pet therapy dog and is very well behaved and extremely entertaining. I rescued her from the Humane Society in June, 2011. She has brought so much joy into my life, I often wonder who rescued who? I love nature and enjoy what every new season brings. Fishing, camping and hiking are some of the things I love to do. I'm a member of the Church, and enjoy fellowship and worship. Mostly, my main interest in life is to enjoy each day and being a caregiver is not just a career to me, it is helping others and making difference in their lives, makes a difference in mine!

Other Information

I'd like to Thank you for allowing me to share my experience and interests with you. I am very interested in allowing myself to continue to grow with new experiences in life and as a caregiver. I am blessed to be in a career that I love and to have known and touched so many lives is the greatest achievement in my life both on a professional and personal level. As the people I've cared for have also all touched my life in so many special ways.