$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I am a 38-year-old mother of two. I have been in medical transcription for over 12 years. I know that this doesn't not apply to a "caregiver" job, but I will explain. At the beginning of this year the company that I thought would be my "retirement job" decided to outsource the entire transcription department; however, they "secured" a job for all transcriptionists, but the job was less than favorable. This left me at the crossroads. In August I began teaching medical transcription at a local community college part time and I love it, but it is only an hour three days a week. I enjoy the flexibility of medical transcription because it allowed me to be a mother to my children. In the past five years I took care of my husband's father who was unable to care for himself, but also ran out of nursing home coverage. I did all of his shopping, light housework, and meal preparation, but most of all I provided him companionship. I understand how frustrating it is to fight insurance companies and be left with little to no options. Unfortunately, my father-in-law passed away in 2011. I am now interested in a caregiver option as I believe it would be beneficial for both me as a mother and some special soul needing to be taken care of.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Trinity Medical Center Transcription Rock Island 8/1/08 11/9/12
Nuance Transcription Georgia 1/1/12 11/9/12
Black Hawk College Instructor Moline, IL 8/1/12 Present

Education

School Name From To Degree
Black Hawk College 1999 2003 Associate’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I love animals. I currently have three dogs and two horses. My children and my husband are my life.