$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I started working at my hometown hospital in junior high as a volunteer Candy Striper. It was a small town hospital, so many of our patients stayed at the hospital as long-term care patients (rather than at a traditional senior living home). I really enjoyed working with the "residents" (as I referred to them), and became very good friends with many. I was a volunteer for six years at the hospital working with the long-term care patients, as well as assisting with various other hospital duties. In college, at the same hospital, I worked as Certified Nursing Assistant - earning my CNA license the summer between my freshman and sophomore years. I worked various shifts at the hospital, and again enjoyed this new setting for working with senior patients. When I returned to college, the summer between my junior and senior years, I worked as a CNA at Elkhorn Manor in Elkhorn 4-5 nights a week. This was a new experience for me, as it was a senior living facility rather than a hospital. I did enjoy the work and again, I made many new friends there. Many of the residents liked to stay up late at night, so when I had some free time I would visit with them. This facility also had an Alzheimer's unit, which I was sometimes assigned to. While this work was challenging, it was a good experience for me and I did my best to help the residents. While I did not go into nursing, I have always felt a strong tie to seniors. Many of my best friends are 60+. I enjoy visiting with them, and just listening to their stories. Plus, when I visit my parents in their hometown, I always try to help my mother with my Grandma (age 93), who still lives at home. My mother is her caretaker. I feel as though we are all put on this earth to help one another, and I've always tried to help those in need however I can. I've always done what I can to help my senior friends, patients and residents in whatever environment they are in. Most of all, I was there to be their friend.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Goodwill Industries, Inc. Marketing Coordinator/Freelance Writer Omaha, NE 1/1/99 9/29/12
Oriental Traiding, Company On-Call Proofreader/Writer Ralston, NE 8/1/02 9/29/12
Fremont Tribune Newspaper Newsroom Manager/Freelance Writer Fremont, NE 5/1/95 9/29/12
N2 Publishing Freelance Writer/Proofreader Omaha, NE 12/1/08 Present

Education

School Name From To Degree
Midland Lutheran College - Fremont, NE 1991 1995 Bachelor’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I am a mother of two children (ages 8 and 12), so I enjoy spending my time with them. I have been a stay-at-home mom for 12 years (since the birth of my daughter). Since then, I have enjoyed participating in their activities as they have grown. Plus, I do volunteer at their school when I have an opportunity. I am really involved in my church - teaching Sunday School, co-leading Vacation Bible School, assisting with holiday programs, and volunteering wherever there is a need. I also do enjoy volunteering and assisting non-profit agencies - by donating time or goods. My primary hobby is writing. I have always loved to write, ever since I was a child. That is why I pursued a degree in this field. As a freelance writer, I have had the opportunity to write many articles on a variety of topics and people. Feature writing is my favorite. I also love the theatre, and enjoy acting. I was in various plays in high school and college, as well as a few community theatre plays - prior to my childrens' birth. I still like to play various characters at church to help inspire (and humor) our congregation when we are looking to support a cause.

Other Information

As mentioned before, I love to help people. Wherever I see a need, I like to do what I can to assist. That is why I think I would be a good fit for this position. Plus, I do enjoy working with a variety of personalities and listening to their stories.