$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I am a graduate student at Rockhurst University to acquire my master's degree in occupational therapy. I have worked with Boone County Family Resources while completing my undergraduate degree at the University of Missouri-Columbia. My position was a supported living assistant for individuals with developmental disabilities. This opportunity has not only flourished my appreciation for occupational therapy even more, but has greatly improved my interactions with individuals with developmental disabilities. As a supported living assistant I assist individuals with all daily living activities varying from bathing, to cooking, to cleaning, to toileting, and dressing along with implementing stretches and exercises ordered by occupational therapists. With these activities I engage each individual to their optimal level so they can achieve a personal sense of independence. Functioning independently is extremely important to me because I was a two-sport collegiate athlete. As an athlete, I understand how frustrating injuries and set backs can be. It takes a tremendous amount of courage and patience to overcome. In this way, I am a good motivator for people trying to gain back the strength to function independently because I understand what they are going through. It is a daily battle that you must work at to get better. Creating independence is one of the most important aspects in building confidence and achieving a better quality of life. I believe my life experiences, personal characteristics, and desire to be an occupational therapist, make me an ideal candidate for consideration for a position with Care Family.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Boone County Family Resources Supported Living Assistant Columbia, MO 6/1/10 6/13/12

Education

School Name From To Degree
St. Ambrose University 2008 2010 Attended College
University of Missouri-Columbia 2010 2012 Bachelor’s Degree

Related Interests & Hobbies

I am a very active individual and enjoying running, hiking, biking, and being outside. I am also a fan of just taking it easy most days and catching a movie or going out to eat. I love to attend sporting events. I am a very approachable individual and easy-going.