$10/hr hourly rate $100/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

I was a teacher, administrator, and have done close to twenty years in Social Work. I also am a volunteer who has helped older women who have had strokes and other issues from the time I was a college student to later. I also worked as a volunteer in a Nursing Home in Ocean City, NJ. I am a caring person who is looking to be helpful. I came down to Durham, NC to be close to my son over a year ago and love the area. I was trained in First Aid and CPR, but would need to update myself to the most recent techniques as they have changed over the years.

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
Joannes seasonal retail Durham 9/1/11 9/19/12
Communities in Schools Mentor Performance Learning Center 4/1/12 9/19/12
Cape Counseling Director School Based Youth Services Cape May County, NJ 4/1/88 9/19/12
The Shores at Wesley Manor Volunteer Ocean City NJ 2/1/11 9/19/12

Education

School Name From To Degree
Wilmington College 1971 1974 Bachelor’s Degree
Monmouth University 1978 1980 Attended College

Related Interests & Hobbies

Having been an art teacher, I like all kinds of arts and crafts, including needle work and quilting. Additionally, I like music and animals. I enjoy reading and sharing stories.

Other Information

I grew up with many grandparents as my great grandparents were in my life until I was 21. I also was close to my maternal grandparents. This gave me an interest in working with older persons. I had volunteered with a minimum of three older women over the years who had some major health issues, including depression. I considered myself more their friend than a helper. I enjoy building relationships and helping an older person feel wanted and needed.