$17/hr hourly rate $120/day live-in rate PART-time availability

Profile

Being of service is something that I enjoy and something that is built into my character. As a child my mother would bring me to senior centers to visit and so I find it natural to sit and hear someone's story. I have worked with people with physical as well as mental disabilities. For a couple of years I assisted a woman with severe arthrogryposis who required transferring, bathing, dressing, transportation, and meal prep. We had a humorous time getting her ready in the morning and evening, making up songs and laughing. We are still friends to this day and I enjoy going on outings with her like swimming in the lake! I've also spent time as a live-in residential support for those with mental disabilities through a Camphill community using Positive Approaches. There I was responsible for appointments, transportation, meals, shopping, cleaning, and most of all motivation for outside activities. I enjoy using my patience and able body to enable those who usually wouldn't, do!

Employment

Employer Position Location From To
The Uganda Village Project Public Health Intern Bulumwaki Village, Iganga, Uganda 6/1/11 8/1/11
Everyday Wellness Clinic Medical Assistant Portland, OR 11/1/10 3/1/11
Berkeley Primary Care Clinical Care Assistant/Health Educator Berkeley, CA 6/1/13 7/1/14
In Home Support Services Personal Care Attendant Berkeley, CA 12/1/12 6/1/15
Camphill Soltane Support Staff Phoenixville, PA 7/1/15 11/1/15

Education

School Name From To Degree
University of California, Santa Cruz 2006 2010 Bachelor’s Degree

Languages

English

Experience With

Neurological Disorders

Stroke

LGBT Health

Quadriplegia

First Aid Training

Transferring/Balance Support